Monday 8 May 2023


We will be back in October!

We are happy to announce a new Fagernes tournament in October 2023.
Fagernes International Autumn will be played from Sunday 8 October to Sunday 15 October.

All details to be found at

Sunday 9 April 2023

Final standings

In the GM-group both GM Vahap Sanal of Turkey and GM Abhimanyu Puranik of India made 7½ points in 9 rounds. Sanal had better tie break and got first place. 

GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan of Armenia was third with 7 points, half a point ahead of GM Eduardas Rozentalis (LTU) and GM S.P. Sethuraman (IND) on 6½.

Rozentalis took both the Veteran prizes, for highest number of points and rating performance.

The best woman prize was won by GM Monica Socko of Poland, ahead of the two Indians WGM Vantika Agrawal and WIM Savitha Shri Baskar. Agrawal in addition got the prize for highest rating performance among the women.

The Open was won by Sondre Stai of Norway with 7 points. Rune Kleiven Rynning of Norway on 6½ took second place, while Tim R. Spanton of England was third with the best tie break of several players on 6 points.

Spanton was best veteran (60+) and Ida Lahlum (sister of the organizer) best woman.

Top-3 in the GM-group:
Ter-Sahakyan, Puranik and Sanal
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)
Top-3 in the Open:
Spanton, Rynning and Stai
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)

Title norms

The following title norms were made at Fagernes this year:
IM Tor Fredrik Kaasen (NOR):GM-norm
FM Benny Aizenberg (ISR):IM-norm
FM Aksel Bu Kvaløy (NOR):IM-norm
WGM Vantika Agrawal (IND):IM-norm
WIM Savitha Shri Baskar (IND):WGM-norm and IM-norm
FM Tanmay Chopra (IND):IM-norm
Sanket Chakravarty (IND):IM-norm

Kaasen made his second GM-norm
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)
Aizenberg made his third IM-norm
(Photo: Anniken Vestby)
Kvaløy made his second IM-norm
(Photo: Anniken Vestby)
Agrawal made her fourth IM-norm
(Photo: Anniken Vestby)
Baskar made her third and final WGM-norm
and her first IM-norm
(Photo: Anniken Vestby)
Chopra made his first IM-norm
(Photo: Anniken Vestby)
Chakravarty made his first IM-norm
(Photo: Anniken Vestby)

Saturday 8 April 2023


Fagernes Blitz II

Fagernes Blitz II was played Saturday 8th April with 44 participants. 

IM Zhen Yu Cyrus Low of Singapore secured first place with one round to go, and finished with 7½ points in 9 games. 

GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan of Armenia and FM Aksel Bu Kvaløy of Norway were both half a point behind the winner.
Kvaløy, Ter-Sahakyan and Low
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)

Possible title norms

List of remaining title norm candidates before round 9:
IM Tor Fredrik Kaasen (NOR):Needs a draw as white against GM Bartoscz Socko for a GM-norm.
IM Koustav Chatterjee (IND):Needs a draw as black against GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan for a GM-norm.
FM Aksel Bu Kvaløy (NOR):Has made an IM-norm before the last round!
WGM Vantika Agrawal (IND):Has made an IM-norm before the last round!
WIM Savitha Shri Baskar (IND):Has made a WGM-norm before the last round; needs a draw as white against IM Erik Hedman for an IM-norm.
FM Tanmay Chopra (IND):Needs a draw as black against GM Stellan Brynell for an IM-norm.
FM Benny Aizenberg (ISR):Needs a draw as black against GM Raja Rithvik Rajavaram for an IM-norm.
Sanket Chakravarty (IND):Needs a draw as white against FM Sambit Panda for an IM-norm.
WGM Pallathur Nandhidhaa (IND): Needs a win as black against GM Monika Socko for an IM-norm.
Shazil Shehzad (NOR):Needs a win as white against GM Tiger Hillarp for an IM-norm.
IM Aditya Mittal (IND):Needs a draw as black against GM Vahap Sanal for a GM-norm, but Mittal anyway has completed all demands and sent his application for the GM title.

Friday 7 April 2023

Fagernes Slow Blitz

Fagernes Slow Blitz was played Friday 7th April with 52 participants. 

The A-group was won by IM Mohan Kushagra of India with 6 points out of 7. IM Emin Ohanyan (Armenia) and FM Edvin Trost (Sweden) both finished on 5 points.

Top spots in the B-group all went to Norwegian players. Rafe Rehman won all his 7 games and took clear first ahead of Lukas Dominik Gåsland on 5½ and Jiabao Eivind Ji on 5 points.

Top-3 in the A-group:
Trost, Ohanyan and Kushagra
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)

Top-3 in the B-group:
Rehman, Ji and Gåsland
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)


The teamtalkingchess tournament at Fagernes was played Thursday 6th April with 12 teams and 42 players. You find the the playing rules here.

Winners were the team Chessaholics consisting of FM Edvin Trost, FM Alexander Øye-Strømberg and FM Mathias Unneland.

Uncreative Penguins (FM Bennet Hagner, Johannes von Mettenheim, FM Magnus Ermitsch and Oliver Bach) took second place, while Check Mate (Shelev Oberoi, Juan Alberto Gomez Aguirre and Juan Antonio Gomez ) finished third.

The winners Chessaholics